Let’s talk about PACKING Baby!

I just need to tell you, this was extremely difficult to write. It definitely took some courage…The struggles are real!

First of all, we were seriously spoiled during our previous move. As part of our first re-location package (10 years ago) the moving company came in and moved us. When I say they moved us, I mean they did EVERYTHING. This move, NOT SO MUCH! As part of this relocation, we have to move ourselves. Frankly that’s asking a lot, doesn’t everyone know moving is really a big deal. Especially when you’ve lived somewhere for 10 years, and looking back I’m pretty sure we have been doing our part (and then some) to “Keep up with the Jones!” Now my friends, I’m paying for it. Boy do we have a ton of STUFF!

As we prepare to pack, who even knows where to begin. Especially when you are still not clear on when and where you’re actually moving. How do you expect me to be motivated when I don’t even know when we’re leaving. As many of you know, I’m a planner and a Project Manager by trade. But without all the information it’s been a bit of a struggle. In my role as project manager, it wasn’t uncommon to work with little to no information, frankly I always been able to provide creative “work-arounds.” My packing strategy thus far has been to pack as much as I can. But wait now I need something that I just pack, well unpack it and problem solved. Needless to say, I’m working in circles.

What else do you do with this kind of dilemma? Take it to FACEBOOK! My Facebook peeps gave me some great advise, many experts in the art of moving.

Their advise:

  • “Start with your storage areas” – Done!
  • “Keep only what’s necessary, if you find out you need it later borrow from a friend” That would have been a great idea, but instead I went through all the boxes until I finally found my printer.
  • “If you’ve not used something in the last week, pack it” – As soon as I did,  I needed it.
  • “Leave everything behind, and buy all new stuff when you get there” – I kind of like that idea! So tempting!
  • “Make yourself a hospitality kit – just keep out what you’ll use in the next 2 weeks and pack the rest.” – Love that!
  • “Pick one thing and focus on it, you have to prioritize” – totally true!
  • Advise from myself to myself: “Less time on FaceBook!”

Thank you to my experts, most of who are military wives!!!

So Instead, here I am writing a blog post. The good news is that this week I’ve been on a roll. About 10 boxes packed just this week…go me!!!

Thanks again to my moving experts. In full transparency this has been a difficult week. Though I’ve received great advice, and it seems so simple, there is an emotional element that makes all of this a little difficult. It’s through sharing and a great support system that I can continue looking forward.

Speaking of looking forward, we can’t wait for next week’s reveal, will it be more details about beach house or Montreal!? Stay tuned!

 

About beckyjp5

First of all - How do you tell all about yourself in just a few lines! In effort to do so... knowing that I'll miss something very obvious. I'm a true believer, a deep thinking, a fun loving - mamma, wife, sister, daugther, grand-daugther, & genunie friend. By trade I'm a yoga teach, Project Manager, & Professional Coach! I'm the one always encouraging everyone to "step out of their comfort zone" for the sake of trying something new! Creating an experience! I've always heard that we teach what we need the most, always looking for win-wins! I love a good challenge, and most of all having fun! Through this blog I'm excited to be sharing our experiences. As so many of you already know, we enjoy new adventures and we excited to share. Our latest adventure is the purchase of our dream house (condo) at the beach! Well we thought that was our latest adventure. But now we're also selling our lovely home of over 10 years and relocating to Montreal. That's right my friends, Canada! For the record this is a career move not a political move! LOL! We're creating this blog to share our adventures in the hopes to inspire others to share their own adventures, but it's also our way to stay connected with each of you!! In an attempt to get started.... Bonjour (Hello) or should I say Au Revoir (Goodbye until we meet again!) View all posts by beckyjp5

5 responses to “Let’s talk about PACKING Baby!

Leave a Reply

